Previous Results

Prev Next

Next Game

Next Game





Cyril Connell & Mal Meninga Final Squad Announcement

The Townsville Blackhawks are happy to announce the final 2016 Cyril Connell under-16 and Mal Meninga under-18 Cup Squads.

The coaching staff led by Allan Petersen (Cyril Connell Cup) and Dick Walsh (Mal Meninga Cup) have had their squads working hard since November last year with hopes high that they will be able to continue their 2015 dominance in season 2016.

Formerly known as the Townsville Stingers, the Cyril Connell and Mal Meninga teams were the stand out sides in their respective competitions last year. Both teams were victorious in their state grand finals, only to fall at the final hurdle to Cronulla in both National Finals.

Both teams will compete under the Townsville Blackhawks name in season 2016 bringing the Townsville youngsters into line with the rest of the state competition.

Cyril Connell Coach Petersen is looking to build on the accomplishments of season 2015 and believes he has the right players to do just that, “The squad this year is very talented, we look to have another successful year and aim to develop these players into future ISC Blackhawks”.

Mal Meninga Coach Walsh is equally optimistic, “I can’t be more pleased with the squad we have got together for 2016. I know the players and coaching staff alike are excited for what the season ahead will bring.

“We have a very talented and dedicated playing group that prides itself on hard work. We will focus on each game as it comes and will not put undue pressure on ourselves in regards to what has been achieved in previous years in the Mal Meninga Cup” he said following the final selection.

You can see these two squads in action on Saturday 6th February 2016 in their first trial as they take to the field to take on the Northern Pride in both grades prior to the Intrust Super Cup trial also against the Pride. The Cryil Connell match is due to kick off at 2:30pm and the Mal Meninga match at 4pm at Jack Manski Oval, Kirwan.

The first official match for both of these sides for 2016 will also feature the Northern Pride as the opposition and will coincide with the first round of Intrust Super Cup on Saturday 5th March 2016, also at Jack Manski Oval. The program is as follows:

  • 12:30PM – CYRIL CONNELL – Townsville Blackhawks vs Northern Pride
  • 2:00PM – MAL MENINGA – Townsville Blackhawks vs Northern Pride
  • 4:00PM – INTRUST SUPER CUP – Townsville & Districts Mendi Blackhawks vs Redcliffe Dolphins

You can find the full draw here.


2016 Cyril Connell Squad
Manfred Baboa
McKenzie Baker
Kade Banset
James Barclay
Cameron Bateup
Adam Cook
Kalum Delacor
Curtis Dempsey
Ty Everett
Mitch Fogarty
Joshua Hanlon
Kelsey Hesp
Jake Hindom
Oliver Jenkens
Quinlan Kelly
Darian Lampton
Harrison Leslie
Isaac Locke
Jackson Lott
Kieran Moran
Martin O'Brien
Hayden Saltner
Hamilton Taia
Adam Whyte
Mitchell Zohn


2016 Mal Meninga Squad
Jack Althaus
Brett Anderson
Regan Baker
Nathan Barrett
Jacob Burke
Michael Carroll
Oscar Carter
Julian Christian
Jake Clifford
Reuben Cotter
Duarne Dempsey
Coby Gibbs
Jack Glossop
Lope Goidubu
Corey Horsburgh
Marshall Hudson
Thomas Kenny
Samuel Martin-Savage
Thomas McCagh
Reece McKenzie-O'Brien
Emery Pere
Enemarki Shibasaki
Caleb Souter
Yaza Stephen
Jayden Stephens
Enari Tuala
Kurt Wiltshire



[robo-gallery id=”3763″]

















Mon 25 January 2016

Become A Sponsor

Major Sponsors

Prev Next